>
biennials.ch
17th International Architecture Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia
22 May - 21 Nov 2021

For access information on site in Venice please click here

The 17th International Architecture Exhibition, curated by Hashim Sarkis, which was to take place in Venice in 2020, will take place from Saturday 22 May to Sunday 21 November 2021.

Consequently, the 59th International Art Exhibition, curated by Cecilia Alemani, which was to take place in 2021, has in turn been postponed to 2022. It will last 7 months and will be held from Saturday 23 April to Sunday 27 November 2022.

The project for the Pavilion of Switzerland continues on the theme of borders, with the appointed project team formed of Mounir Ayoub and Vanessa Lacaille from Laboratoire d’architecture in Geneva, as well as Fabrice Aragno and Pierre Szczepski

The exhibition in the Swiss Pavilion at the Biennale Architettura 2021 in Venice «Oræ – Experiences on the Border» ties the physical reality of the Swiss border to its political and social issues, thus drawing up a new perception for these inhabited territories. The outbreak of the pandemic in the middle of the work process gave the project additional relevance. Find out more about the project in the full press release.

Architect and curator Evelyn Steiner is responsible for the «Salon Suisse» at the 17th Biennale Architettura, a programme of talks and events supplementing the exhibition at the Swiss Pavilion. The «Salon Suisse», entitled «Bodily Encounters», will take place at the Palazzo Trevisan degli Ulivi during the the 17th Biennale Architettura. 

The first Salon Suisse event this year is scheduled for late summer. The provisional dates for this and the following events are:

Salon One: Thursday 16 September to Saturday 18 September 2021 (date subject to change)
Salon Two: Thursday 21 October to Saturday 23 October 2021
Salon Three: Thursday 18 November to Saturday 20 November 2021